Mike Trout (2009-10) named 2012 American League Rookie of the Year

Mike Trout (Cedar Rapids Kernels – 2009-10) became the second player in Cedar Rapids professional baseball history to win a Rookie of the Year award and he is the first to win the award in the American League. Chris Sabo (Cedar Rapids Reds – 1983) won the National League Rookie of the Year in 1988. We have had three players finish second in the voting – Rocky Colavito in 1956 (Cedar Rapids Indians – 1952), Ron Hunt in 1963 (Cedar Rapids Braves 1960-61) and Mark Trumbo in 2011 (Cedar Rapids Kernels 2006-07). Trout was the eighth unanimous selection in American League history receiving all 28 votes.

Mike Trout hit .326 (2nd) with 27 doubles, 8 triples, 30 HR and 83 RBI in 139 games for the Angels in 2012. Trout led the American League with 49 stolen bases and 129 runs scored. He posted a .399 on base percentage and a .963 OPS while leading the league with a 10.7 WAR (Wins above replacement) and a 5.3 WPA (Win Probability Added).

Mike Trout hit .267 in 5 games for the 2009 Kernels squad late in the season. Trout returned to Cedar Rapids in 2010 where he hit .362 with 19 doubles,7 triples, 6 HR, 39 RBI and stole 45 bases in 81 games. He was named to the 2010 Midwest League All-Star game, played in the XM Futures Game in Anaheim and swept Midwest League post season awards winning the 2010 MWL batting title, MWL Player of the Year award and MWL Prospect of the year award. Trout became the youngest recipient of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award as the Topps Minor League Player of the Year in 2010. He earned Baseball America’s Minor League Player of the Year Award in 2011. Cedar Rapids finished the season with a 82-56 record under manager Bill Mosiello. The Kernels lost to Clinton in the first round of the Midwest League Playoffs.

Here is the list of all our former players who have finished in the top seven in the voting.

Rocky Colavito     2nd   AL   1956   Cedar Rapids Indians (1952)

Dick Drott               3rd   NL   1957   Cedar Rapids Raiders (1954)

Ron Hunt                 2nd   NL   1963   Cedar Rapids Braves (1960-61)

Hector Cruz            3rd   NL   1976    Cedar Rapids Cardinals (1970-72)

Chili Davis               4th   NL   1982   Cedar Rapids Giants (1978)

Chris Sabo               1st    NL   1988   Cedar Rapids Reds (1983)

Reggie Sanders      4th   NL   1992   Cedar Rapids Reds (1990)

Bill Risley                 4th   AL   1994   Cedar Rapids Reds (1989-90)

Jason Dickson        3rd   AL   1997   Cedar Rapids Kernels (1995)

Bengie Molina         4th   AL   2000   Cedar Rapids Kernels (1994-95)

John Lackey            4th   AL   2002   Cedar Rapids Kernels (2000)

Mark Trumbo          2nd   AL   2011   Cedar Rapids Kernels (2006-07)

Jordan Walden        7th   AL   2011   Cedar Rapids Kernels (2008)

Mike Trout                1st    AL   2012   Cedar Rapids Kernels (2009-10)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: